1. Home
  2. News
  3. Tim Atkin MW’s “Rioja 2021 Special Report”: 100 Rioja wines achieved 95+ points

Tim Atkin MW’s “Rioja 2021 Special Report”: 100 Rioja wines achieved 95+ points

  • The “Rioja 2021 Special Report” confirms DOCa Rioja as the Spanish wine region with the highest number of wines above 95 points
  • A Rioja white reaches the highest ranking in the report, scoring 100 points
  • The British expert praises the diversity and quality of Rioja wines and describes some of the first Viñedo Singular wines as impressive

 

 

 

 

The renowned Master of Wine and journalist Tim Atkin has just published his “Rioja 2021 Special Report”, in which he highlights the great variety and multitude of oenological styles according to the different areas and the idiosyncrasies of each producer. Words of MW himself, “this has been the most diverse and exciting samples of Rioja wines that I am able to taste, with a record number of outstanding whites and astonishing Garnacha, Maturana Tinta and Mazuelo varietals, as well as fabulous tranditional Gran Reserva wines.”

 

 

White wines from Rioja: undiscovered treasure of Spanish wine

 

Among Atkin’s evaluations, the 100 points obtained by “Viña Tondonia Blanco’ Gran Reserva 2001”, from Bodegas R. Lopez de Heredia, stood out, reaching the highest position in the ranking, exemplifying the intense work for the development of Rioja white wines carried out by numerous producers in recent years. The MW does not usually give this maximum score and in his latest monographic reports on international wine regions, no more than 4 wines have obtained it; Rioja whites are, according to the report, “one of the undiscovered treasures of Spanish wine”.

 

To sum up, the report has highlighted up to 793 Rioja wines above 90 points and 100 of which, 95 points or above, which reaffirms Rioja as the Spanish wine regions reference in terms of high quality.

 

 

 

 

Promising beginnings of “Viñedo Singular” wines

 

The MW had the opportunity to taste a large number of “Viñedo Singular” wines for his research. “Viñedo Singular” is a new classification, promoted by the DOCa Rioja Regulatory Council since 2017. Comments from Mr.Atkin, “although it is very recent, but I was able to taste quite a lot samples of “Viñedo Singular” and found them impressive; it will be very interesting to study its evolution over the next decade.”

 

The full report published on the website www.timatkin.com, apart from the evaluations and tasting notes of these 790 wines, also the recognitions to oenologists or winegrowers. Mr.Atkin has analyzed a wide selection of wines according to the categories, terroirs and styles of elaboration, tasting 1,200 samples from 266 producers. This is the sixth annual monograph that Mr.Atkin dedicates to Rioja, and for the first time, due to the pandemic, the process of study and analysis of wines, has been carried out remotely from London, where Atkin tasted all the wines and carried out 180 video conferences with producers from Rioja.

1. 首页
  2. 里奥哈新闻
  3. 葡萄酒大师Tim Atkin最新报告:100款里奥哈葡萄酒获得95分以上!

葡萄酒大师Tim Atkin最新报告:100款里奥哈葡萄酒获得95分以上!

  • “里奥哈2021年特别报告”指出里奥哈是西班牙所有产区评分超过95分酒款最多的产区
  • 里奥哈的一款白葡萄酒在报告中排名最高,获得了令人瞩目的100分
  • 葡萄酒大师称赞里奥哈葡萄酒的多样性和品质,并称第一批“单一园葡萄酒”令人印象深刻

 

 

 

 

知名葡萄酒大师和记者Tim Atkin近期发表了他的《里奥哈2021特别报告》,其中根据细分产区和每位生产者的特点,着重介绍了主要品种和多种酿酒风格。大师说:“这是迄今为止、我能品尝到的里奥哈葡萄酒中最多样化也最令人兴奋的酒样,有创纪录数量的高品质白葡萄酒,更多的歌海娜Garnacha、红马图兰纳Maturana Tinta和马苏埃罗Mazuelo品种葡萄酒,以及令人惊艳的传统特级珍藏葡萄酒Gran Reserva”。

 

 

里奥哈白葡萄酒:西班牙葡萄酒静候发现的瑰宝

 

在Tim Atkin MW的评估中,来自Bodegas R. Lopez de Heredia酒庄的一款“Viña Tondonia Blanco Gran Reserva 2001”获得100分脱颖而出,在总体排名中名列前茅,这也充分说明了近年来里奥哈产区生产商为发展白葡萄酒品类做出的不懈努力。大师通常不会给出满分,在他最近对其他国际葡萄酒产区的专题报告中,只有不到4款葡萄酒获得满分。在里奥哈特别报告中,他称赞里奥哈白葡萄酒是“西班牙葡萄酒中静候发现的宝藏之一”。

 

总体而言,特别报告中重点介绍了793款里奥哈葡萄酒(均高于90分),其中100款葡萄酒高于95分,这也再次肯定了里奥哈作为西班牙高品质产区的代表地位。

 

 

 

 

“单一园Viñedo Singular”葡萄酒是希望的开端

 

值得指出的是,大师这次有机会品尝了大量的 “单一园Viñedo Singular” 葡萄酒。对于最近由里奥哈酒原产地名称资格规范委员会倡导的产区地理细分,他衷心感叹:“尽管这个划分是最近几年的事,但我品鉴过的绝大多数里奥哈单一园葡萄酒已经令人印象深刻,随着更多新酒款的加入,研究单一园葡萄酒在未来十年的演变将非常有趣”。

 

完整版报告已在www.timatkin.com网站上发布,除了对这790余款葡萄酒的评估和品酒词外,还提及了里奥哈产区去年令人瞩目的酿酒师或葡萄农们。在撰写报告时,葡萄酒大师分析了种类繁多的葡萄酒类别、风土和酿造工艺,品尝了来自266位生产商的1200款样品酒。这是Tim Atkin MW献给里奥哈产区的第六本年度报告,却是在新冠大流行的严峻背景下,第一次以远程形式,在伦敦进行葡萄酒的研究、分析和品鉴。大师不仅品尝了所有样品葡萄酒,更是与里奥哈的生产商们进行了180场视频会议。